Yung Mal Announces 6 Rings Project, a Collaboration with Rising Producer Pyrex Whippa, Arriving on March 5th via Alamo Records

The ATL Upstart Joins Forces with Doe Boy For the Slick Black-And-White Video for Lead Single “Blake Griffin”

The Announcement:

Bursting out of East Atlanta with one of his city’s freshest flows, Yung Mal is on the fast track to stardom. Teaming up with producer Pyrex Whippa, another rising star in the trap scene, Yung Mal announces 6 Rings, his next project. The upcoming tape showcases Mal’s effortlessly intricate rhymes–the 24-year-old rapper is an expert at finding unique rhythmic pockets within the beat, frequently messing with listener’s expectations of meter and the bar line. A favorite of the new generation of Southern rappers (DaBaby, Offset Lil Gotit, Dreamville), the Baltimore-born Pyrex is a perfect fit for Mal’s style, offering a diverse variety woozy trap instrumentals on which the young rapper can perfect his flexes. Featuring appearances from Lil KeedLil GotitDoe Boy, and more, 6 Rings arrives on March 5th via Alamo Records.

To accompany the announcement of the tape, Mal shares Blake Griffin,” the project’s first video single. A bouncy, hypnotic, piano-laden trap single named after the superstar Detroit Pistons forward, “Blake Griffin” is an ode to Mal’s flashy approach to flexin’–bands fly out of his bank account as fast as they’re deposited: “Racks stackin’, sh*t just pilin’/Don’t got no stylist/Drip for real like Thousand Islands/And my diamonds, they may blind you/Shooters in front, got some behind me.” The single features an appearance from Doe Boy, the FBG-affiliated Cleveland native, who contrasts Mal’s hushed boasts with a snarling, unhinged verse of his own: “You rockin designer from last year?/That sh*t played out!” In the video, Mal and Doe Boy ball out in black-and-white (director Motion Picture Sh*t adds a touch of color), strutting their stuff in front of a basketball hoop and a police lineup wall.

6 Rings is Yung Mal’s first full-length project since last summer’s release of Iceburg, his debut solo mixtape. The mixtape hosted a long line of successful singles, including the Gunna-featuring War (612k views), the Gucci Mane-featuring, Complex-premiered “Fresh”, and the exotic slapper “Action,” featuring Lil GotIt, produced by Pi’erre Bourne, and premiered by HYPEBEAST. More recently, Mal dropped a line of fiery video singles, including Dollar Signs,” Juggernaut, the Numbers (Remix) ft. Stunna 4 Vegas, and last week’s Bachelor. With 6 Rings, Mal starts to make his bid for rap stardom in Zone 6 and beyond.

Watch “Blake Griffin” ft. Doe Boy: https://youtu.be/8WVK2loSsA8

Buy/Stream: http://smarturl.it/blakegriffin

6 Rings Tracklist:

  1. Cocaine Freestyle
  2. What’s Poppin
  3. Shut Up ft. Lil Gotit + Lil Keed
  4. Exotic f/Lil Quill
  5. Blake Griffin f/Doe Boy
  6. 100 Missed Calls
  7. Goin Up
  8. Showed My Son 100K
  9. La Cienega
  10. Don’t Even Matter
  11. Free Molly
  12. Str8 Out The Pyrex

Please contact Michelle or Kierra for more info.

twitter | facebook | soundcloud | youtube | instagram | spotify

“Blake Griffin” ft. Doe Boy: http://smarturl.it/blakegriffin / https://youtu.be/8WVK2loSsA8

“Bachelor”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_Oay6jfiQs

“Back @ It” w/ Lil Quill: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bNqPte30Skc

“Numbers” (Remix) ft. Stunna4Vegas: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obPyN0q5URo

“Stashed In The Vent”: https://youtu.be/QQ5532nan4c

“Juggernaut”: spotify | youtube | apple

“Dollar Signs”: https://youtu.be/r5N7F00DFu8

“Started Actin’ Funny”: https://smarturl.it/YMSAF

“Toothpaste”: https://youtu.be/1m6LQ7dOhWM

“War” ft. Gunna: https://youtu.be/I513CVVMYsE


“Action” ft. Pi’erre Bourne & Lil GotIt: https://smarturl.it/1ddct7 / https://youtu.be/wh-QcK8xdXA