Video: Rucci & AzChike – “After Party” ft. Haiti Babii

The LA natives team up with Haiti Babii for a late night celebration in the latest video from their first-ever collaborative album Kourtesy Of Us

Critical Praise:

“On the spectrum of the new Los Angeles, Rucci sits closest to classicism, capturing the spirit of greats like Suga Free and Mack 10. But don’t mistake that homage for predictability: Rucci consumes these beats. His presence throughout this album is glowing, outsized, and even within the frames of L.A. bump — minor keys, minimal bass — he makes daring production choices. (“Lowrider” interpolates, you know, that song). But beneath the booming production and drug inventories that run rampant on Tako’s Son are stories of deep loss and chosen family” – NPR

“Rucci is one of the few young and buzzing West Coast rappers capable of pleasing both emcee traditionalists and those seeking true starpower and hit-making potential… Inglewood’s chosen son is on his way to stardom.” – HYPEBEAST

“He’s become equally adept at writing fun party slappers and ferocious pain rap dirges, gangsta rap indebted to history but hounded by the demons of the present.” – The LAnd

“He has the dexterity to spit about street life in L.A. in a way that doesn’t romanticize its harsh realities, while still remaining loose enough to pivot from those heavy topics to raps about his Instagram DMs blowing up (“How you text me off that app but you blocked?”).” – Pitchfork

“Time is of the essence for AzChike. Since 2013, the 24-year old has tried to make every moment count. Prior to being known for his storytelling abilities and bops like “Burn Rubber Again” and “Licked Up,” the rapper, who has drawn comparisons to mid-2000s Lil Wayne and 2019 XXL Freshman Blueface, began his career as a what he describes as a conscious rapper. Once he shifted gears (and quit his day job), however, he really started to get the party jumping.” – XXL

“Central L.A. rapper AzChike specializes in making songs that rattle your trunk.” – The FADER

The Album:

Tearing up the block with their street stories and function anthems, Rucci & AzChike are a match made in L.A. Rap heaven. For the latest music video from their first-ever collaborative album Kourtesy of Us, Chike and Rucci connected with Haiti Babii for the music video for album highlight “After Party.” The track is more a celebration of the California natives’ come ups than what one might expect from a song titled “After Party.” With the trio rapping in unison, “Just be yourself my n**** / Just focus on your wealth, my n****,” to close out the song, “After Party” is for raising a glass to the ones that have been along for the ride. In the Stacking Memories directed video, Rucci, Chike and Haiti Babii host a low-key studio after party with LA baddies and their closest associates.

Joining forces for their first-ever collaborative album, Chike and Rucci released Kourtesy Of Us on Friday, October 8th via Mackk&Cult / EMPIRE. The 21-track album is home to recent singles like the slinking, piano-laden My N****s,” and the gleefully inappropriate Hoodrat,” featuring a guest spot from Boosie BadAzz. Packed with production from maestros like Cypress MorenoAceTheFaceHitmanRob ViciousBruce24k, and more, Kourtesy Of Us is an expansive survey of West Coast sounds, from the dramatic bass & piano lusciousness of “No Time,” to the swirling synths and insistent 808s of “Get Back Gang,” the pizzicato strut of “Fasho Poppin,” and the luxurious electric keys of “Thug P*ssy.” Throughout, Chike and Rucci remain quotable, ping-ponging verses as they demonstrate why they’re among their city’s elite. Rucci attacks the beat with a breakneck, snapping flow, while Chike’s oblique delivery finds hidden pockets in instrumentals, helping his disrespectful punchlines stand out. Featuring appearances from KamaiyahBoosie BadazzHaiti BabiiCapolow, Kalan.FrFr, and many more, Kourtesy Of Us is available everywhere via Mackk&Cult/EMPIRE.

Prior to Kourtesy Of Us, Rucci and AzChike hit the streets with a line of fiery collaborations, built over a number of years. The two rappers connected with Capolow for No Kizzy,” a Bay-meets-L.A. banger, took aim at steppers on Who Dat,” and earlier, they honed their chemistry with the rip-roaring “Pop Pills.” They’re renowned in the streets of L.A. for creating multiple local hits, most notably 2020’s “Function In The Hood” and 2018’s Light It Up.” Both artists are continuing the momentum from big 2020s–Rucci continued to explore his fascinating backstory with the Midget album, featuring the hit single “Understand” ft. Blxst, and AzChike kept busy with hard-hitting EPs and collaborations with the likes of Sada Baby and Frostydasnowmann.

Finally joining forces for the joint album that L.A. needs, Rucci and AzChike happily gifted their fans and their city with a new set of slaps. Join AzChike and Rucci at the official Kourtesy Of Us release show at The Fonda Theatre in Los Angeles on November 14th: https://www.axs.com/events/414195/rucci-x-azchike-tickets

Watch “After Party” ft. Haiti Babii: https://youtu.be/JFEXqt-wz8Q

Kourtesy Of Ushttps://music.empi.re/kourtesyofus

Kourtesy Of Us tracklist:

  1. Fasho Poppin ft. Cypress Moreno
  2. Give It Up
  3. Check It
  4. Hoodrat ft. AzSwaye & Pjay
  5. My N****s
  6. Depend On Me ft. Cypress Moreno
  7. Trust
  8. Celebration ft. Kamaiyah
  9. After Party ft. Haiti Babii
  10. Bangel ft. Lil’ Deuce
  11. Money On Me ft. Kalan.FrFr
  12. No Time ft. Capolow
  13. Thug P*ssy ft. Su’Lan
  14. Kourtesy Of Us
  15. Word Around Town
  16. Ambush
  17. Get Back Gang
  18. What We Talkin Bout ft. AzSwaye
  19. Church
  20. Dive In The Water ft. AzSwaye
  21. Hoodraft ft. Boosie Badazz, AzSwaye & Pjay

Please contact Michelle or Kerry for more info.

The Background:

EMPIRE Background:

EMPIRE was founded in 2010 as an artist-friendly, progressive digital distribution company. After early success, and identifying future icons such as Kendrick Lamar, Anderson .Paak, and Rich Homie Quan, EMPIRE was quickly regarded as a tastemaker in the industry and throughout the past five years evolved into a full-fledged record label, distributor and publisher for independent musicians. With the company and roster growing at a breakneck pace, EMPIRE has effectively disrupted a stale business model by bringing its energy, expertise, and acumen to its artists and labels. Today, EMPIRE works with some of music’s hottest talent, ranging from superstars such as T.I. and Snoop Dogg, red-hot newcomers such as SOB X RBE and Mozzy, and established veterans like Jim Jones and Redman. While remaining 100% independent, EMPIRE has also partnered with Atlantic Records for a joint venture, home to breakout star D.R.A.M. and propelled singles by Fat Joe & Remy Ma (“All The Way Up,” 2x Platinum), Tyga (“Taste,” 3x Platinum), and Lil Duval (“Smile”) to the top of the Billboard Hip-Hop Charts. In April 2018, EMPIRE signed a global distribution deal with Universal Music Group for select artist projects.

AzChike: instagram | twitter | youtube | spotify
Rucci: instagram | twitter | soundcloud | youtube | spotify

“After Party” ft. Haiti Babii: https://youtu.be/JFEXqt-wz8Q

Kourtesy Of Ushttps://music.empi.re/kourtesyofus

“My N****s”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-E-EC3Nn4I

“Hoodrat” ft. Boosie Badazz, AzSwaye & PJay: https://youtu.be/YENwEogTFE8

“Pop Pills”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuyM3zFgsCg

“No Kizzy” ft. Capolow: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mTvg-rjHXzg

“Who Dat”: https://music.empi.re/whodat

“Function In The Hood”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c8vFleaR1a8

“Light It Up”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8jS79ahs38