Video: J Stalin – “The Boss

Oakland’s Favorite Son Brings His Origin Story to Life in the Video for the Introductory Song From¬†Prenuptial Agreement 2

Critical Praise:

“Vibrant and exploding with personality, J. Stalin is a knowing, mischievous wise-ass whose charisma hangs between unapologetic cockiness and the ability to cut through rap’s fantasy-addled drug fetishism and provide sobering reality.”¬†–¬†Pitchfork

“One of Oakland’s illest MCs”¬†–¬†XXL

“As the owner of Livewire Records,¬†West Oakland rapper J Stalin¬†provides a place for the growth of incredibly creative, meat-and-potatoes Bay Area hip-hop. The label hosts gritty rubbery street music that navigates crack dealing devastation and grounded partying tracks with equal aplomb, with artists that range from Stalin himself to MCs like Shady Nate and Philthy Rich among others.” –¬†SPIN

“This is what Stalin does: he takes things‚Äďsounds, human beings, grocery stores‚Äďand warps them into something extraterrestrial. It‚Äôs eerie, but you‚Äôre dancing anyway.” Passion of the Weiss

The Video:

An influential figure in the Bay Area scene,¬†J. Stalin¬†stands tall as an ambassador for the region’s mob music. Detailing how he rose from the West Oakland streets to his current status as the¬†LiveWire¬†Records¬†CEO, Stalin shares “The Boss,” a new video . Rhyming over dramatic, piano-led production, Stalin details some of the lessons he learned during his 15+ year career. Though he’s escaped the struggle of his early years, the memories of his hustling days still haunt him and inform his every move:¬†“When you n****s gon’ realize we under attack?/And they don’t want you to have sh*t if your ass Black/F*ck learnin’ how to shoot, learn how to stack/Get your money and you could buy a hundred MACs.”

In the video, Stalin revisits the streets that raised him, stopping by the local corner store for a bite to eat, as he pays his gratitude forward, embraces the locals, and continues to feed the streets.¬†¬†“The Boss” is the first track from Stalin’s new album¬†Prenuptial Agreement 2, and it follows videos for album highlights like¬†‚ÄúBasic,‚ÄĚ ‚ÄúTo Do List,‚ÄĚ and ‚ÄúBackwoods.‚ÄĚ

The sequel to the 2010 breakout project that made him a regional star,¬†Prenuptial Agreement 2¬†is a showcase for Stalin‚Äôs raspy vocals, brutally honest lyrics, and peerless ability to navigate mob instrumentals.¬†Like the¬†Pitchfork-acclaimed¬†original, which brought guest spots from the likes of E-40 and The Jacka,¬†Prenuptial Agreement¬†brings an eclectic cast of characters, from fellow Oaklanders like¬†Philthy Rich,¬†22nd Jim, and¬†Jane Handcock¬†standing up for the 357, and street heroes from other cities, like Florida’s¬†Jackboy¬†and Stockton’s¬†EBK Young Joc,¬†who sound right at home.

J. Stalin is celebrating the success of Prenuptial Agreement 2 with the Livewire Reunion Tour, hitting cities across the West Coast. The tour reunites the original Livewire Records crew, including Bay Area royalty Philthy Rich and Lil Blood. The Livewire Reunion Tour hits Club Insomnia in Oakland on May 19th and May 20th. Stay tuned for more announcements.

Loyal to the grind and his family, J. Stalin is building a legacy for himself and the Oakland scene he hails from. With Prenuptial Agreement 2, the proudly independent artist cements his rightful place in Bay Area history.

Watch “The Boss”:¬†https://youtu.be/moUSCyhYQlk

Stream Prenuptial Agreement 2:  https://music.empi.re/prenuptialagreement2

Buy tickets HERE for the Livewire Reunion Tour, featuring J Stalin, Philthy Rich, and Lil Blood

Prenuptial Agreement 2 tracklist:

  1. The Boss
  2. Who U Talkin 2 (ft. June)
  3. Bricks in the City (ft. Jackboy)
  4. World On My Shoulders
  5. A Lot of Money (ft. 22nd Jim)
  6. Everywhere I Go
  7. Basic (ft. Lyjah)
  8. Don’t Front Pt. 2 (ft. Big Breaux)
  9. To Do List (ft. June Poole)
  10. Issues (ft. Stunnaman02 & Lyjah)
  11. S. 580 (ft. Lyjah)
  12. Tupac (ft. EBK Young Joc)
  13. Count On 1 Hand (ft. Jane Handcock)
  14. 3 Minutes (ft. Philthy Rich)
  15. Backwoods (ft. Kevin Allen)
  16. Grind For It (ft. 4rAx of The Mekanix & Acito)
  17. The One

Please contact Michelle or Annjie for more info.

official site | twitter | facebook | instagram

Bio, pics, and more available here: http://www.audibletreats.com/j-stalin

“World On My Shoulders”:¬†https://youtu.be/ZBasX_uefh4

“Basic” ft. Lyjah:¬†https://youtu.be/fYc_4Ztm29Y

“Backwoods” ft. Kevin Allen:¬†https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mgsBNAnyNRo

“Who U Talkin 2” ft. June:¬†https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAJeq4BPiQE

‚ÄúTo Do List‚ÄĚ ft. June Poole:¬†https://youtu.be/1igzgSeXLsA

Prenuptial Agreement 2: https://music.empi.re/prenuptialagreement2